Forgetful lady

Forget me not I begged a lady
Whose tender love I strongly seek
Her beauty and faith, and strength maybe
Has stolen words my tongue aught speak

Forget not the radiance of her face
Dimming the brilliance of the moon
“…I am not the fairest…” she says
In modesty she generously forgets the soon

What though my faith in her be shaken
What thief sent her memory aflown
A new hope that has us believing
With faith comes lots of joy unknown

So speak here, kind dear Lady
For with your memory flies my sails
All you have to do is remember me
And I shall remember everything else
…for you.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Forgetful lady

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 41(April 7-13, 2011) | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

  2. moving words.
    magical delivery.

    Share a free verse today,

    Bless your talent.

    come on in now…

  3. Jingle says:

    well expressed sentiments.

    Share a free verse with poets rally week 41 today, awards will be assigned.

    Bless your talent.

    Visit me NOW, and link your work…

  4. Jingle says:

    Happy Rally.

    Thanks for sharing..

  5. pmwanken says:

    I’m drawn to moon references…and love the lines:

    Forget not the radiance of her face
    Dimming the brilliance of the moon

    Nice poem!

  6. Alethea says:

    So speak here, kind dear Lady
    For with your memory flies my sails
    All you have to do is remember me
    And I shall remember everything else
    …for you.

    This made my heart melt :D. Beautiful!!

  7. Pingback: Outstanding Poet of National Poetry Month in 2011 Award Nominations | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

  8. Vinay says:

    poignant images, very tender and touching! nicely done!

    Rally Week 41 – My Poetry

  9. A.B. Thomas says:

    Impressively passion invested into each stanza, loved the write!

  10. Pingback: The Slayer Unborn « A.B. Thomas, Mutter Fluka

  11. bila faiza says:

    This is nyc… like I love the play with words…connects u with ur soul n keeps u thinking of who you love.. nyc

Leave a Reply

